Kochi Metro

Kochi Metro: Project Profile, Route Maps, Ticketing and Projects Updates

About Kochi Metro

The Kochi Metro is a mass rapid transit system serving the city of Kochi in Kerala, India. Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh laid the foundation stone for the Kochi Metro project on 13 September 2012 and the Construction work on the project began on 7 June 2013.

Kochi Metro completed within a record time and began its operation from 17 June 2017.

Project Profile

The Specifications
Design Speed 90 km per hour
Average speed 35 km per hour
Train Length 66.55 metres (3 coaches)
Estimated Completion Cost Rs 5181.79 Crore
Fare Collection Automatic fare collection system with combination of smart cards & RFID / QR Code tickets
Capacity/Train 975 passengers (Crush load) (Seating – 136)
Phase I Aluva to Petta
Phase IA Petta to SN Junction
Phase II JLN Stadium to Info Park
Phase III Aluva to Angamaly
Total Number of Trains 25
Present Reach Aluva to Maharajas College Metro station (16 station, 18 Km).

The most cost effective, modern and 80% indigenised coaches in India are from M/s. Alstom, France, using Third Rail Traction that are capable of being run driverless in future.

Technical Details
Construction Methodology Elevated viaduct carried over pre-stressed concrete ‘U/I’ shaped girders with pile/open foundations
Rolling Stock 2.9 m wide modern rolling stock with stainless steel body, Standard gauge, Axle load of 16 tonnes
Power Supply Source 110 KV AC
Traction 2.9 m wide modern rolling stock with stainless steel body, Standard gauge, Axle load of 16 tonnes
Signalling, Train Control & Telecommunication Communication Based Train control – ATC with ATO, ATS, ATP & CBI

Route Map with stops and journey time

Kochi Metro Route Map

Kochi Metro Route Map 2020

* Length of the line is 25.612 km

* Number of stations: 22

* Maximum carrying capacity per train: 600

* Journey Time:

Aluva to Pettah: 46 minutes

Aluva to Palarivattom: 24 minutes

Aluva to Ernakulam Junction: 34.40 minutes

Pettah to Ernakulam Junction: 12 minutes

* List of stations:






Kalamassery Town

Cochin University



Changampuzha Park


Detailed Project Report

  1. Download DPR