Delhi Metro introduces permanent bicycle stands at Stations

In a bid to encourage the use of bicycle and to address issues of last-mile connectivity for the Delhi Metro commuters, the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) has started a service of giving its commuters a healthy and eco-friendly option of riding a bicycle to their destination from the station.

The DMRC has set up permanent bicycle stands. “With a view to encourage use of bicycles and propagate environment-friendly mode of transportation among metro commuters for covering smaller distances, DMRC has introduced permanent space for bicycle stands at its Metro stations which have provision of dedicated parking lots,” the DMRC said in a statement.

The stations where this new facility will be available are Seelampur, Shahdara, Welcome, Rithala, Saket, Arjangarh, Chattarpur, Dwarka Mor, Dwarka, Dwarka Sector 21, Mundka, Nangloi, Peeragarhi, Tughlakabad, Badarpur, Sarita Vihar and Okhla Bird Sanctuary.

The parking lots at Nawada, Uttam Nagar (E) and Vishwavidayala metro stations have also been identified for permanent bicycle stands which will be installed within few days, the DMRC said. “This facility will be further extended to more stations in a phased manner. These permanent bicycle stands have the capacity of parking multiple bicycles and will be provided with a locking mechanism for the safety of bicycles,” it added.

The DMRC said that in association with some private operators, it had been operating 20 bicycle sharing service stands covering 19 stations across its network and 13 more stations have been identified for these bicycle sharing service (through private operator) which will be functional in few weeks.