Bangalore Metro

Bangalore Metro



The Phase-1 network of Namma Metro consists of two corridors viz. East-West and North-South.

East-West corridor is named Purple Line

(Mysore Road-Baiyappanahalli)

North-South corridor is named Green Line

(Nagasandra- Yelachenahalli)

The two corridors intersect at Kempegowda station which is a two level interchange station. A commuter who intends to travel from a station in one line(say Trinity in Purple line) to a station in another line (say Peenya in Green line) will have to change the train at Kempegowda station without coming out of paid area. The commuter can buy a single token for the complete journey.

East west corridor (Purple Line)  18.10 KM
North-south corridor (Green Line)  24.20 km
Total  42.30 km
Elevated section  33.48 km
Underground section  8.82 km
Gauge  Standard Gauge
Traction  750 Volt dc Third Rail
Speed  Max 80 Kmph; Average 34Kmph
No. of stations  40 (33 elevated, 7 Underground)
Travel time  33 / 44 minutes (end to end)
Headway  4 minutes at start; later 3 minutes
Signalling  Automatic Train Protection (ATP) Automatic Train Operation (ATO)
Rolling Stock  3 Cars train set (DMC-TC-DMC) Extendable to 6 Cars train